Education College

The goal of the Education College is to innovate the educational process within the Cook County Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency.  By bringing faculty mentors and residents together, we hope to enrich educational practices including high-fidelity medical simulation and study these processes in pursuit of scholarly activity.  We seek to enhance the resident experience both as learners and teachers and to provide tools to our members for life-long learning and a fulfilling academic career. 


Specific goals:

1. Provide an avenue for educational scholarship including:
- Presentations at regional and national meetings
- Publication of peer-reviewed medical literature
- Asynchronous scholarship through alternative mediums such as free open-access medical education (FOAMed)
2. Refine Resident teaching skills and provide opportunities for the teaching of medical students, junior residents, and other healthcare workers
3. Encourage collaboration among faculty mentors and resident with an interest in medical education
4. Prepare members with the tools necessary for a satisfying and productive career in academic Emergency Medicine


Selected College Projects:

  • Development of an adjunct airway curriculum

  • Monthly in-training examination preparation using the Flipped Classroom model

  • Implementation of a medical student teaching shift for residents

  • Creation and maintenance of the Cook County Emergency Medicine Educational Blog


Selected Research or Scholarly Presentations:

  • Winfield AD, Chhabra N, Schindlbeck MA, Bowman SH. Applicant Attitudes Toward the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Standardized Video Interview. Academic Emergency Medicine Education & Training. 2019:dos:10.1002/aet2.10355

  • Dyer S, Amin D. Flipped Learning Initiative Program (F.L.I.P): Flipping the Classroom with a FOAMed Supplemental Curriculum. Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD) Academic Assembly 2016. Nashville, TN.

  • Clinical Pathological Case Presentation (CPC) conference at CORD 2018, San Antonio TX

    • Neeraj Chhabra MD – discussant, Division Two Runner-up

    • Kareem Agunbiade MD - presenter, Division Two Runner-up

Faculty Leader: Neeraj Chhabra MD

Faculty members: Dhara Amin MD, Sean Dyer MD, Rosaura Fernandez MD, Tarlan Hedayati MD, Michael Schindlbeck MD, Scott Sherman MD

Resident Leaders: Brandon Ingalls MD